Thompson Named to Doak Walker Award Enjoy List

LUBBOCK, Texas – Texas Tech junior jogging again SaRodorick Thompson observed his name positioned on the preseason view listing for the Doak Walker Award for a second-consecutive 12 months Tuesday as element of an announcement by the PwC SMU Athletic Forum.
This is the first preseason observe checklist for Thompson this season and the 3rd of his vocation as he was also a preseason applicant for the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award prior to the 2020 campaign. The Doak Walker Award, introduced on a yearly basis to the nation’s prime functioning back again, is only the fourth view record introduced hence far as element of the timetable from the Nationwide College Football Awards Association (NCFAA).
Thompson has paced Texas Tech on the ground the earlier two seasons, becoming the initially Pink Raider to lead the crew in hurrying around back-to-back again several years due to the fact DeAndre Washington in 2014-15 and the initial underclassman to do so considering the fact that Taurean Henderson was the workforce chief around 4-straight seasons from 2002-05.
Thompson shut the COVID-shortened 2020 time with 610 dashing yards and 8 touchdowns on 109 carries to be a part of the likes of Henderson, Ricky Williams (1997-98), Byron Hanspard (1994-95), Byron Morris (1991-92) and James Gray (1986-87) as the only Pink Raiders due to the fact 1970 to guide the team in dashing as the two a freshman and sophomore.
Two of individuals names are common types in the historical past of the Doak Walker Award as Morris became the initial Pink Raider to assert the prestigious award in 1993 adopted by Hanspard in 1996. Texas Tech joins the likes of Texas, Wisconsin, Stanford and Alabama as the only colleges nationally with several winners of the award since its inception in 1990.
Thompson has rushed for 1,480 yards and 23 touchdowns above his two-as well as seasons, placing the Irving native in rivalry to sign up for the school’s all-time career leaders moving into the 2021 campaign. He wants 800 dashing yards to match Ring of Honor member Donny Anderson (1963-65) for 10th all-time in program heritage and 6 touchdowns on the ground to tie the trio of Billy Taylor (1974-77), Hanspard (1994-96) and Zebbie Lethridge for eighth in the school record reserve.
The Doak Walker Award will name 10 semifinalists in November followed by a few finalists after a vote by its nationwide assortment committee later in the thirty day period. The committee will solid a 2nd vote in December to establish the 2021 receiver of the award, which will be declared live on ESPN throughout The Household Depot School Soccer Awards.
The award is named for SMU’s 3-time All-American operating back again Doak Walker. It is the only big collegiate award that demands all candidates to be in very good educational standing and on schedule to graduate within one particular calendar year of other pupils of the similar classification.

Previous post Kokua Line: How can I get less costly online services?
Next post These 3 Tech Shares Are Creating the Potential